Pesto!! (A summer delight in fresh basil sauce)

This is 8 batches of pesto!

 

Pesto is a delight of summer.  The good news is that it can be frozen.  I used my last container of last year’s batch just before the new leaves came in on my basil plants.

Well, the last two weeks made the sweet basil go to seed, so I pulled up all the plants, and harvested three plastic bags full of the leaves. I saved some seeds to replant.  My, my..gave some away, but have so much.  So, pesto time.

Pesto has two expensive ingredients in it, however, I’ve reduced this by getting olive oil at Costco, and having a friend contribute the pignoli nuts (or pine nuts) in exchange for some of the pesto. The rest is available in the kitchen, and of course, I have the basil.  I also grew Thai basil, but that produces all summer. Easy recipe..yummy taste.

3 ounces of pignoli nuts (pine nuts)                           2 tablespoons of Parmesan cheese

3/4 cup of olive oil (no other kind)                              1/2 teaspoon of salt

1 heaping teaspoon of garlic                                       2 tightly packed cups of fresh basil

To cook:  Cook and drain pasta of your choice.  Keep hot.  For each serving, use two tablespoons of pesto per person.  Add a bit of butter and heat gently, or put in microwave for 30 seconds. Put in large bowl and toss a serving of pasta in it to coat.  Serve immediately.  I only do two servings at a time, as it is hard to toss more than two at a time.  Enjoy so much this fresh taste of summer.

One thought on “Pesto!! (A summer delight in fresh basil sauce)

  1. Oh, this reminds me of a small and easily missed restaurant in Needham MA called Sweet Basil. I was a floating manager at the time and this location was SOOOOOOO FAR FROM HOME so when I went there to work for a day I’d treat myself to lunch there . . . awesome menu, but the best part was freshly baked bread and a big bowl of pesto for dipping and brought to the table free as soon as you approached a table. It was very “store front” and the sort of place only locals would find, so I’m glad one of them told me about it. Each time I went there I found all sorts of interesting local characters to chat with. It was delightful. Oh, man, the pesto though. I never wanted my yummy lunch since I filled up on the pesto! What a nice memory this great recipe reminded me of!

    Like

Leave a Reply

