Swiss Chard

Huge bag of Swiss chard ready for sharing with my office, and making soup.

Huge bag of Swiss chard ready for sharing with my office, and making soup.

I have a trash bag full of Swiss chard from the garden.  It is totally mature (beginning to go to seed), and only suitable for soups, or it can be used like collard greens.  Swiss chard can be used in a salad when it is tender, can be steamed when it it a little more mature. However what I picked in my garden this past weekend is going to become a few soups.  I have a few that I will post–the first one is the best minestrone that I have ever had, and I have tweaked this to become my own.  I made a minestrone when I worked at Romagnoli’s, but I do believe that this one is better.  Eric loves this soup, and it doesn’t last long around here. Here is a picture of the bag of Swiss chard!

Leave a Reply

