Daily Prompt: Stranger in a Strange Land

I, of course, really do think that the best part of travel is the food. However, Martha has a wonderful perspective in this blog, and it is worth reblogging. I hope you enjoy.

Martha L Shaw - Poet, Writer, Artist

 

What’s your favorite part about visiting a new place — the food? The architecture? The people watching?

 

What a thought-provoking topic!  My immediate reaction was, quite likely, not what most would expect.    You see, my life, my lifestyle, my home, my finances, my vocation, my faith, and ultimately my heart has changed greatly in the fairly recent past.  Change is good.  Change is growth.  Change can be scary, especially when one no longer fits the mold of familiarity that friends and family have grown accustomed to.  Suddenly, this land I’ve been in for so long has become a strange land.  Suddenly, I am a stranger to myself . . . or expressed more clearly, I have become my true self.  What do I like best?  Well, the food . . . I’m eating a mostly vegetarian diet and that’s good.  People watching is fun but sometimes frustrating.  People…

View original post 583 more words

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Stranger in a Strange Land

Leave a Reply

